A heart set on pilgrimage

Many of my early posts this year were linked to family events, and this one is linked to my husband, Victor’s birthday a couple days ago.  A pastor friend came today to take us for lunch to celebrate, so it’s right on time.

We will celebrate 29 years together this fall.  I am from Michigan, as Anglo as they come (English/German/with a bit o’ Irish).  Victor is from Egypt, pure blooded from the pharoahs line (not the kings called Pharoah, but the Egyptian people).  In this testimony I write about our differences and the initial reception we received.

The fact that I have been physically weak from the beginning would have been an acceptable reason in his culture to have divorced me, but as a man of God, that never crossed his mind.  He has worked in the ministry, while I worked as a scientist.  Our cultural and physical differences provided the Lord with the raw material to shape and mold us into his image.  I wrote this testimony of our marriage in the spring of 2005. We rejoice in the Lord’s grace until today.

OUR TESTIMONY

 I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Christ,

Nor is Christ ashamed to call me His own.

I am not ashamed that He chose a man for me,

Eight inches shorter, thirteen years older,

And from a culture far different than my own.

Nor is this man ashamed to have taken a bride,

Not from the East, not strong in health,

And who works to support the family while he works from home.

Both of our cultures have expectations for us, but by the obedience of faith

(Hebrews 11:6) we looked for a blessing our cultures would not give us. 

Not caring about the raised eyebrows and careless remarks,

“We run with endurance the race set before us, looking unto Jesus,

the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy set before

Him endured the cross, despising the shame,

and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God” (Hebrews 12:1-2).

Called out of two countries, united in Christ we look for the heavenly country,

fulfilling the word of the Lord, “I will bring your descendents from the East

and gather you from the West” (Hebrews 11:15-16, Isaiah 43:5).

About Pastor Deborah

My name is Deborah Khalil. I am a commissioned minister in The Wesleyan Church. After working twenty years as a scientist in the pharmaceutical industry, I now work from home and focus on teaching the Bible, my real passion! I have worked in children's and women's ministries, wrote and taught creation science workshops, and served several years as the assistant pastor at Amazing Faith Christian Fellowship in Poway, CA. My husband, Dr. Victor Khalil, is founder and director of Ministries International, producing satellite and livestream television progams in Arabic and English. He teaches Arabic at Biola University in La Mirada, CA. We are a totally unlikely match that was made in heaven.
This entry was posted in Family, God's Heart for the Nations, Holiness, Obedience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A heart set on pilgrimage

  1. findingmyinnercourage says:

    I found this not only interesting but captivating! Bravo!

    • Thank you very much. It means a lot to know you liked it. I continue to pray for you and enjoy your courageous posts. Thanks for your prayers too. I need to get more writing done and will teach a Bible study on Matthew this fall.

Leave a Reply

