A letter to a spiritual daughter

This letter is meant to model the New Testament epistles from spiritual fathers to their sons and daughters in the faith.  As a spiritual mother, I long for God’s children to grow in faith, hope and love.  Earlier posts were on my son’s birthday and my mother’s birthday (now with the Lord). Today is my birthday so this is dedicated to the “adopted daughter” who sought my counsel and fellowship ten years ago.  We grew together in ways I cannot measure.

To my beloved Amy and to the church that meets in R House and our brothers and sisters in San Diego.  From Deborah, a handmaiden of the Lord and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  Grace and peace to you in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

My recent visit was far too short but my heart was filled with joy at the love shown to me.  I long to spend more time with you so that the mutual encouragement of our fellowship will abound with praise to God our Father.

The fruit of our time together, and your earnest desire to serve the Lord, are evident in lives born into God’s family who are growing in the faith.  Continue to press forward in the place of service the Lord has given you grace to accomplish according to his good pleasure.

It was with great joy that we began to seek the Lord in His word together.  It is with great joy that I now recall the revelation we received in His presence through the Holy Spirit.  You have nurtured spiritual gifts of helps, administration, evangelism, encouraging, and intercession.  You have grown in grace as a wife and a mother, and your prayers for your  family and for others in the body of Christ are earning an eternal reward.

Daughter, you are precious to me and to the Lord.  May the Lord richly bless you as you continue in the obedience of faith.  Praise be to God who is infinite in wisdom and lovingkindness!

About Pastor Deborah

My name is Deborah Khalil. I am a commissioned minister in The Wesleyan Church. After working twenty years as a scientist in the pharmaceutical industry, I now work from home and focus on teaching the Bible, my real passion! I have worked in children's and women's ministries, wrote and taught creation science workshops, and served several years as the assistant pastor at Amazing Faith Christian Fellowship in Poway, CA. My husband, Dr. Victor Khalil, is founder and director of Ministries International, producing satellite and livestream television progams in Arabic and English. He teaches Arabic at Biola University in La Mirada, CA. We are a totally unlikely match that was made in heaven.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A letter to a spiritual daughter

  1. Annie B says:

    Awesome and inspiring! Thank you! Annie 🙂

  2. Amy H says:

    Oh Deborah, this letter touches my heart so! I miss our times together. They were so precious to me and I’m so glad you are writing this blog. As I read your Day by Day, Step by Step…..I can picture sitting on your couch and you giving me this exact advice! You are such a blessing to me and I can’t wait to see you soon!! All my love to my spiritual Mom!!

Leave a Reply

